AIA Tampa Bay
Twitter LinkedIn

Home |Overview | Search | Contact

A Chapter of the American Institute of Architects

Looking for an architect?

  AIA Florida
Events Calendar   Membership
Employment   Documents

Honor & Design Awards Program

We are now accepting nominations and entries for our annual awards program recognizing great people, firms, and exceptional design! All winners will be honored at Celebrate Design, Friday, November 2nd at The University Student Center, USF St. Petersburg Campus


August 24th, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. - Deadline for online registration (design award fees due)
September 21st, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. - Deadline for receipt of honor award nominations
September 21st, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. - Deadline for receipt of electronic & board design entries
October 9th, 2018 at 8:00 p.m. - Deadline for receipt of Garcia submission packages
November 2nd at 6:30 p.m. - Celebrate Design Reception at ­The University Student Center, USF St. Petersburg Campus

Click here to register for the Design Awards­­

Click here for Celebrate Design Sponsorship Opportunities

Click here for Honor and Design Awards Book – All award descriptions and forms


Please nominate deserving Architects, Associates, Allied Members, Contractor's as well as other deserving members of the A/E/C community for the awards below. You must submit a letter of nomination or a nomination form which can be found in the awards book. Please submit to ­­­

Firm Award­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­
Pullara Award­
Medal of Honor­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­
Award of Excellence­
Artisan Award­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­
Contractor’s Award­
Allied Award­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­
Kelley Emerging Professionals­


The annual award is offered to registered architects 40 years of age or younger. The Garcia Award promotes design excellence through recognition of young architects with talent, passion, and dedication; qualities for which Eduardo Garcia was known.

All completed submission packages shall be received no later than
Sunday, October 9th, 2018 @ 8:00pm EST
Email digital submission packages to:

Click here ­for entry package/criteria.­


The Design Awards Program recognizes excellence in design by the architectural profession and is presented by AIA Tampa Bay, a Chapter of the American Institute of Architects. These Awards are intended to promote public consciousness of the built environment through distinguished works of architecture.­

The submittals are open to built or unbuilt architectural projects of all types and sizes and can be submitted by individuals or firms either residing in or whose submitted project is located in the chapter’s seven-county region. All designs must have been produced within the past five years.

The awards are juried by a panel including a non-competing, award-winning, out-of-area architect who has not served as design awards juror for at least the past 10 years. Multiple Honor and Merit Awards may be awarded in each category as entries are solely and individually weighted on their value of design excellence. However, only one project will be awarded the top award – the H. Dean Rowe, FAIA Award for Design Excellence. ­Winners will be announced at a Reception on Friday, November 2nd at the USF St. Petersburg Campus Student Center­

This award of honor recognizes built projects by licensed individuals or firms that may include architectural projects of any type from any category. It has been established in honor of the late H. Dean Rowe, FAIA, and recognizes work by AIA members that represents the highest level of design excellence awarded by AIA Tampa Bay.


This award recognizes unbuilt or competition projects by college students attending a school of architecture program within our chapter territory or whose permanent residence is within our area.
Entry Fee: $35.00 *­

This award recognizes built or unbuilt projects by any unlicensed individual who has received an architectural degree within the past 10 years. If a project entry is built, an architect or firm must attest that the intern acted as the lead or primary designer for the project entered.­

Entry Fees:­ AIA Member- $75.00*, Non-member - $150.00*

Entry Fees: AIA Member - $150.00*
Non – Member - $300.00*

*All entry fees are non-refundable

Includes built private non-residential

Include built single and multi-family residences­

Includes built public n

Includes public and private non-residential projects that are not built.

Includes single and multi-family residences that are not built.

Includes distinctive details and projects with construction budgets under $500,000.­

Includes built preservation, adaptive re-use, or renovations of structures of historic importance.­

Includes transportation, parks,
and recreation, or city and community planning projects.


Registration and fees are due by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, August 24th.­ Online registration is available by going here.


Entries for the awards program are electronic, and the electronic materials submitted will be presented to the jury.­ In addition, all entrants are required to produce and submit a 24” x 36” project board which will be used for display at Celebrate Design and for public outreach.­ Boards may also be viewed by the jury as a supplement to the electronic materials.­­

Electronic Submissions must include a minimum of 5, maximum of 10 images including photographs, renderings, and drawings labeled with your entry number and the preferred order (A-J).­ Images should all be approximately 3” x 5” 150 dpi jpegs.­ One image should be duplicated and identified as your ‘signature’ image.­ The signature image will accompany the media release if your project earns an award. ­­

Each submission must also include a complete Project Description Form where you will describe in a maximum of 300 words the basic program requirements, special site problems and how the design process and solution satisfies these as well as any technical, environmental or social advancements regarding your project.­ Images and descriptions will be used to create a webpage for each project on­

Click here for submission criteria, entry checklist, photo release, and board criteria­

Click here for 2018 Honor & Design Award logo


©2019 AIA Florida.   Contact Us · Privacy Policy